I recently bought a book from The Happy Herbivore. You see, lately, my eating hasn't been so great. Is that a cookie? Let me just eat one or three! Or... oh we have chocolate chips in the cabinet? I'm just going to eat a little handful... Every Time I Go Into The Kitchen! Seconds on dinner, big evening snacks before bed. You see what I'm getting at? I was doing Fabulous before my birthday! I was at my lowest weight, I felt great and then... Happy Birthday!! My birthday was back in October...
The age isn't the problem. The fact that I went out to eat and restaurant food always causes a gain (and bloat). Sure... maybe eating a bit too much while I'm out has something to do with it. But still! I don't get to go out very often so when I do, I may overindulge a bit. Anyway, I gained a little extra and then Thanksgiving came. Oh boy! You see, it wouldn't be so bad if I only went one place. At my grandma's, it's not so vegan friendly. We bring our own meal. I did great, didn't overeat! But then... we went to the in-laws... They love us so much that they cook yummy vegan stuff for us. I, of course, ate too much. ::sigh:: Plus pie! I love pie!
And of course following Thanksgiving, you have all the Christmas foods, which always include cookies. Eating too much again... I was starting to feel less than awesome. You would think it would stop there but OH NO! It does not! You see...
Mid-January we have a birthday here in our little house. That requires yummy food and, yep, cake! Then February, you have to buy chocolates, March well... we became addicted to baked goods over the past few months so we kinda started making cookies and things pretty much weekly. Cookies, cupcakes, donuts, brownies....etc... over and over again! Mmmmmm!
Well, enough was enough! No more! :-/
That's when I saw that The Happy Herbivore had a lovely new book, '3-Day Reboot' I bought it! I also bought the '10-Day Cleanse' book, but to be honest, I'm not ready to do that one yet. So we started it on Saturday. My usual pancake breakfast was replaced with oatmeal. It was good, but I definitely missed my pancakes. Then my morning snack was a detox drink (water, ACV, lemon juice, cayenne, cinnamon and honey) and I would have preferred an apple. Lunch was pumpkin chili, although we used sweet potato instead of pumpkin. All the food was good. The serving sizes were way more than I could eat. We actually were able to feed both my husband and myself with just one serving split between us. I doubled a few recipes and will be able to eat that stuff the rest of this week. So my usual 6 meals/snacks a day got knocked down to 3 meals, one snack. OH MY GOSH! Sometimes I would be starving but I kept busy and drank lots of water. We did it, all three days! Although, we did have some chocolate with our strawberries one night. But... we were about 90% with it the rest of the time, lol!
{And my youngest has been sleeping a bit better, he adds in hour in each night so that's less he's been in my bed. Thank you PediaKids Sleeplessness! }
And so, after my 3 Days I have to say, I'm doing good. I am 1 lb away from where I was before my birthday, I'm not as tired as I was before and I'm in a better mood for the most part. If I had the will power to keep this up that would be Fantastic!
So, if you're looking for a reboot, check out the book! Happy Herbivore
No comments:
Post a Comment